Press Release

New AADE Officers and Board Take Office

For Release: December 20, 2013

Contact: Diana Pihos at 312.601.4864,

Chicago – The American Association of Diabetes Educators today announced that the following diabetes education leaders are beginning their terms on the AADE Board of Directors, starting January 1, 2014. Each will serve a one-year term.

2014 AADE President Joan Bardsley, MBA, RN, CDE, FAADE, an assistant vice president at MedStar Health Research Institute in Hyattsville, MD.

2014 AADE President-Elect Deborah Greenwood, PhD-C, Med, CNS, RN, BC-ADM, CDE, FAADE, a diabetes clinical nurse specialist and ADA/AADE program coordinator with Sutter Medical Foundation in Granite Bay, CA. She will ascend to president in 2015.

2014 AADE Immediate Past President Tami Ross, RD, LD, CDE, a diabetes nurse educator with Internal Medicine Associates in Lexington, KY.

2014 AADE Treasurer Carol Rasmussen, MSN, NP-C, CDE, FAADE, a family nurse practitioner with Exodus Healthcare in Tabiona, UT.

New board members, who will each serve a three-year term: 

Joan Czarnowski-Hill, RD, LDN, CDE, with Hill Nutrition Consulting in Natick, MA.

Nancy D’Hondt, RPh, CDE, FAADE, a clinical pharmacist and diabetes educator with St. John Providence Hospital and Medical Center in Grosse Pointe Park, MI.

Kenneth Moritsugu, MD, MPH, FACPM, Rear Admiral, USPHS (Retired), from Great Falls, VA. Note: Dr. Moritsugu will serve a two-year term

Nathan Painter, PharmD, CDE, an assistant professor with the University of California, San Diego.

Donna Ryan, MPH, RN, RD, CDE, a patient education services manager with Sacred Heart Hospital in Pensacola, FL.

Kellie Antinori-Lent, MSN, RN, CDE, a diabetes nurse specialist with the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center in Greensburg, PA. Lent will serve a two-year term as Member Affiliates Liaison.