AADE Fellows Program

The Fellows Program of the American Association of Diabetes Educators (AADE) was established to recognize diabetes educator leaders who have made outstanding contributions to AADE and diabetes education and care through clinical practice, research, education, or health policy, including the development and implementation of mentorship programs for diabetes educators.

Individuals who desire to be considered for FAADE selection must meet the following minimum requirements:

  • Possess a Baccalaureate degree
  • Be a current AADE member with a minimum of 5 consecutive years of membership
  • 10 years of experience in the field of Diabetes Education as an educator, clinician or researcher
  • Be a leader who has made outstanding contributions to AADE and to diabetes education, and care through clinical practice, research, education, or health policy, including the development and implementation of mentorship program for diabetes educators
  • Be involved in AADE on both the Local and National levels

A limited number of Fellows are selected each year.

In addition to meeting the minimum requirements candidates must include:

  • A Personal Essay (limited to 750 words) that includes contributions to AADE, diabetes education and care. The essay should be submitted in a professional format
  • Two Letters of Recommendation (limited to 500 words), one which should be from a current Fellow
  • A non-refundable, non-transferable application fee of $250

Only complete applications received by the April 1, 2015 deadline will be considered. All applications must be submitted electronically. The Fellowship Review Committee will review all applications. Those selected to become 2015 Fellows will be notified within 90 days of the deadline.

For any questions, please contact the Fellowship Review Committee at FAADE@aadenet.org or call 800-338-3633 x 4822.

Download the 2015 application.

Current AADE Fellows:

Mary M. Austin, MA, RD, CDE, FAADE
Joan Bardsley, RN, MBA, CDE, FAADE
Peggy Bourgeois, APRN, MN, CNS, CDE, AACE-CEC, FAADE
Sandi Burke, PhD, ANP, BC-ADM, CDE, FAADE
R. Keith Campbell, RPh, CDE, FASHP, FAPhA, FAADE
Ann Constance, MA, RD, CDE, FAADE
Susan Cornell, PharmD, BS, CDE, FAPHA, FAADE
Ellen Davis, MS, RN, CDE, FAADE
Judy Davis, RN, BA, CDE, FAADE
Nancy D'Hondt, RPh, CDE, FAADE
Linda Dries, MS, RN, BC-ADM, CDE, FAADE
James Fain, PhD, RN, BC-ADM, FAAN, FAADE
Janice Ann Fisher, RD, LD, PhD, BC-ADM, CDE, FAADE
Martha Funnell MS, RN, CDE, FAADE
Amparo Gonzalez, RN, CDE, FAADE
Deborah Greenwood, PhD, CNS, MEd, RN, BC-ADM, CDE, FAADE
Diana Guthrie, ARNP, PhD, BC-ADM, FAAN, FAADE
Laura Hieronymus MSEd, RN, MLDE, BC-ADM, CDE, FAADE
Deborah Hinnen, ARNP, BC-ADM, CDE, FAAN, FAADE
Lucille Hughes, MSN/ED, RN, BC-ADM, CDE, FAADE
Tommy Johnson, PharmD, BC-ADM, CDE, FAADE
Jane Kadohiro, DrPH, MS, MPH, BS, BA, AA ,CDE, FAADE
Ginger Kanzer-Lewis, RN, BC, EDM, CDE, FAADE*
Barbara Kocurek, BS, PharmD, BCPS, CDE, FAADE
Patricia Landi Linekin, MSN, RN, CDE, CNS, FAADE
Suzanne Swann Laws, MS, RD, LD, FADA, BC-ADM, FAADE
Terry Lumber, MSN, RN, CNS, CDE, BC-ADM, FAADE
Jerry Meece, RPh, CDE, FACA, FAADE
CarolĂ© Mensing, RN, MA, CDE, FAADE 
David Miller, RN, MSED, BSN, CDE, FAADE
Katherine Moran DNP, RN, CDE, FAADE
Hildegarde Payne, MA, RN, CDE, FAADE
Charles Ponte, PharmD, BC-ADM, CDE, FAADE
Teresa L. Pearson, MS, RN, CDE, FAADE
Virginia Peragallo-Dittko, RN, MA, BC-ADM, FAADE
Carol Rasmussen, MSN, NP-C, CDE, APRN, FAADE
Donna Rice, MBA, BSN, RN, CDE, FAADE
Christina Ring, ARNP, MSN, CDE, FAADE
Laura Shane-McWhorter, PharmD, BCPS, BC-ADM, FAADE
Evan Sisson PharmD, MHA, CDE, RPh, FAADE
Donna Tomky, MSN, RN, C-ANP, CDE, FAADE
Nadine Uplinger, MS, RD, CDE, BC-ADM, FAADE
Virginia Valentine, CNS, BC-ADM, CDE, FAADE
Eva Vivian, PharmD, BCPS, CDE, RPh, FAADE
Elizabeth Walker, PhD, RN, CDE, FAADE
Katie Weinger, EDD, RN, FAADE

In addition to meeting the minimum requirements, the candidates must complete the application form, and include a personal essay, two letters of recommendation one of which should be from a current Fellow of a healthcare association, and other supporting documents that show evidence of their outstanding service to the field of diabetes education.

For any questions, please contact the Fellows Review Committee at FAADE@aadnet.org or call 800-338-3633, ext. 4822