Press Releases

American Association of Diabetes Educators Announces Award Winners at 2014 Annual Conference

Aug 06, 2014

The American Association of Diabetes Educators (AADE), the national premier association dedicated to advancing the field of diabetes education, announces this year’s recipients of our Awards Recognition Program.

The following leaders will receive their awards each morning during the conference’s general sessions.

Lifetime Achievement Award: Richard Rubin, PhD, CDE 
This award is being given posthumously. Dr. Rubin was an extraordinary role model who demonstrated the essence of exemplary diabetes education and who continues to influence the diabetes care profession with his legacy. Awarded Wednesday August 6. 
Allene Van Son Distinguished Service Award: Jane Kadohiro, DrPH, APRN, CDE, FAADE 
Retired after 30 years of service to the State of Hawaii, Dr. Kadohiro has been a long-time volunteer with AADE and many other organizations. She served as AADE president in 2002-2003. Awarded Friday, August 8.

Diabetes Educator of the Year Award: Susan Weiner, MS, RDN, CDN, CDE 
A diabetes educator in private practice, Ms. Weiner is also a co-author of the book, “The Diabetes Organizer: Your Guide to a Less Stressful and More Manageable Diabetes Life.” Awarded Thursday, August 7.

MY AADE NETWORK Award: Florida Coordinating Body 
Advocacy Award: Patricia Adams, RN, CDE 
Rising Star Award: Nicole Bereolos, PhD, MPH, CPH, CDE 
Innovative Use of Media and Technology Award: Virginia Lehn, RN, BSN, CDE 
Innovation in Practice Research Award: Joy Pape, MSN, FNP, RN, CDE, and Susan Lehrer, RN, CDE

About AADE: 
Founded in 1973, AADE is a multi-disciplinary professional membership organization dedicated to improving diabetes care through education. With more than 14,000 professional members including nurses, dietitians, pharmacists, and others, AADE has a vast network of practitioners involved in the daily treatment of diabetes patients.


Leave a comment

In This Section