News & Publications

New AADE Leaders Announced

Jul 28, 2017

The results from the AADE National Leadership Election are in! Each of our newly-elected national leaders brings a unique set of skills, knowledge and experience that will complement our existing board and help move our association forward.

Congratulations to an amazing group of leaders:

2018 AADE President-Elect

Karen Kemmis, PT, DPT, MS, GCS, CDE, FAADE
Joslin Diabetes Center at SUNY Upstate Medical University
Physical Therapist/Certified Diabetes Educator/Adjunct Professor
Syracuse, NY

AADE Board of Directors

Nicole Bereolos, PhD, MPH, CDE
Clinical Psychologist/Certified Diabetes Educator
Dallas, TX

Barbara Schreiner, PhD, APRN, CDE, BC-ADM, CPLP
Elsevier, Inc.
Sr. Director of Content Assessment and Research
Houston, TX

Laura Shane-McWhorter, PharmD, BCPS, BC-ADM, CDE, FASCP, FAADE
University of Utah - College of Pharmacy
Salt Lake City, UT

Susan Weiner, MS, RDN, CDE, CDN

Susan Weiner Nutrition, PLLC
Merrick, NY

2018 AADE Treasurer

Lucille Hughes, MSN/Ed, CDE, BC-ADM, FAADE
South Nassau Communities Hospital
Director of Diabetes Education
Rockville Centre, NY

2018 Nominating Committee

Jasmine Gonzalvo, PharmD, BCPS, BC-ADM, CDE, LDE
Purdue University
Clinical Associate Professor/Clinical Pharmacy Specialist
Indianapolis, IN

Joan V. Czarnowski-Hill, RDN, CDE, LDN
Hill Nutrition Consulting
Natick, MA

Daniel J. Kent, PharmD, CDE
Kaiser Permanente of Washington
Specialty Clinical Pharmacy Coordinator
Seattle, WA

EnJOY Life! Health Consulting, LLC
New York, NY

The election of Karen Kemmis as President-elect and Lucille Hughes as Treasurer has resulted in two vacancies on the Board of Directors, as both Karen and Lucille were in the first year of their respective terms. Per AADE's Bylaws: "In the event of a vacancy in the position of a member elected Director, the next candidate in line by number of votes from the most recent slate of candidates will be asked to fill the vacancy for the unexpired term." As a result, the following candidates will serve on the Board of Directors from January 2018 through December 2019:

Laurel Fuqua, RN, MSN
Canary Health
Sr. VP Clinical Operations
Los Angeles, CA
Debra J. Reid, PharmD, BC-ADM, CDE, BCACP
Northeastern University
Assistant Clinical Professor
Boston, MA

Thank you to our newly elected leaders for your continued participation and dedication to AADE.

In This Section

News & Publications