Association of Diabetes Care & Education Specialists

News & Publications

American Association of Diabetes Educators Honors Excellence in Diabetes Education

Aug 24, 2016

At its annual conference last week in San Diego, the American Association of Diabetes Educators (AADE) honored several individuals for their achievements in diabetes education.

Diabetes Educator of the Year Award

Marci Butcher, RD, LN, CDE

Montana Diabetes Prevention & Control Program

Butcher has served for 16 years as the Quality Diabetes Education Initiative Coordinator for the Montana Diabetes Prevention & Control Program. She coordinates a self-study/peer-mentoring program to help diabetes educators increase their skills. Butcher also leads Montana Kids with Diabetes School Collaborative, serves on the committee that will revise the National Standards of Diabetes Self-Management Education and Support, and continues to work as a diabetes education consultant for Mountain-Pacific Quality Health of Montana, Wyoming, Alaska and Hawaii.


Lifetime Achievement Award

Robert M. Anderson M.Ed, Ed.D,

Former AADE board member and professor, University of Michigan

Anderson has been an avid advocate for the patient-centered model. His research and ongoing promotion of the patient empowerment concept revolutionized diabetes care and his work on healthcare disparities in urban areas has helped diabetes educators to overcome those disparities. 

Martha Funnell, MS, RN, CDE, FAADE

Department of Learning Health Sciences at the University of Michigan Medical School and co-chair of the Diabetes Healthsense Workgroup

Funnell has dedicated her career to improving diabetes education through patient empowerment. She was the first diabetes educator to serve as chair of the National Diabetes Education Program (NDEP) and has represented diabetes educators on many large global research studies and on editorial boards for several journals.



Allene Van Son Distinguished Service Award

Sandra Burke, PhD, RN, APN, FAADE, FAAN

Goldfarb School of Nursing at Barnes Jewish College, St. Louis, MO

As a former AADE president, Burke has helped to define the career path for educators through her research and publishing. She helped define levels of practice and competencies for the diabetes educator and practice of diabetes education during her extensive career, serving in leadership roles at numerous academic institutions and organizations. 


Kentucky Diabetes Prevention and Control Program,

Chair, Kentucky Board of Licensed Diabetes Educators

DeCoste was the state of Kentucky’s first licensed diabetes educator and led efforts to create the program, helping to establish the original legislation and worked with legislators through the process. She has since worked with several other states on licensure initiatives and scope of practice for diabetes educators. DeCoste has served on the AADE Board of Directors and currently sits on the editorial advisory board for AADE in Practice.


Innovative Use of Media and Technology Award

Recognizing educators who further the field through innovative use of media and/or technology.

Stephen Ponder, MD, CDE

Baylor Scott & White Healthcare, Temple, TX


Rising Star Award

Honoring diabetes educators who have less than three years of experience and have demonstrated leadership and commitment to diabetes education. 

Andrew Bzowycki, PharmD, BCPS, CDE\

University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Pharmacy/Truman Medical Center

Sossity Anne Riordan, PharmD, BCPS, BC-ADM

Indian Health Service, Lawton, OK

Britt Rothberg, MS, RDN, LD, BC-ADM, CDE

Novo Nordisk, Inc., Atlanta, GA

Ann Scheufler, MS, RD, CDE

Banner Endocrinology Clinic, Loveland, CO

Leave a comment

In This Section

News & Publications